NJASC Executive Board

For over 80 years, the students of New Jersey have elected their fellow student leaders to serve on the NJASC/NJAHSC Executive Board. Over the years, some of the best and brightest have served our association and the student leaders of our state...

About our Executive Board

The NJASC Executive Board is elected annually by student leaders of the state’s middle and high school student councils. Students from NJASC member schools are eligible to run for State Office as follows:

  • High School students must be sophomores or juniors at the time of election.
  • Middle School students must be able to remain in Middle School for the duration of their term.
  • In order to be slated as a candidate for NJASC President, a student must have attended the NJASC Leadership Training Conference (LTC).

The NJASC Constitution divides the state into two sections (North and South), from which Executive Boards alternate each year:

  • North (odd years) includes the following counties: Bergen, Essex, Hudson, Hunterdon, Middlesex*, Morris, Passaic, Somerset, Sussex, Union, Warren.
  • South (even years) includes the following counties: Atlantic, Burlington, Camden, Cape May, Cumberland, Gloucester, Mercer, Monmouth, Ocean and Salem.

*NOTE: Revisions to the NJASC Constitution ratified in October 2008 moved Middlesex to the Northern region. Prior to that it was part of the Southern region.

At the Fall Business Meeting in October, there is a mandatory meeting for all students intending to seek NJASC State Office. Each member school is entitled to run one candidate. In December, the current Executive Board holds its' Interview Meeting, where all potential candidates for State Office are interviewed. The current Board then creates an election slate, where candidates are placed in contention for one of the nine available positions on the next Executive Board.

At the NJASC Winter Convention in January, more than 1500 student leaders from middle and high school Student Councils listen to speeches presented by each candidate for the next Executive Board. After all speeches have been given, the Student Council President (or designate) from each member school casts one vote for each position. The winners are announced at the end of the Convention and will take the oath of office immediately thereafter.

The newly elected Executive Board meets with the outgoing Board at the Transition meeting in February. Once the transition is completed, the new Board meets to organize and select the year’s NJASC theme. The NJASC Executive Board meets monthly during the school year, as well as during the National Association of Student Councils (NASC) National Conference in June and the NJASC Leadership Training Conference (LTC) in August.

Other Historical Notes

Prior to January 1976, the NJASC was named the New Jersey Association of High Schools Councils (NJAHSC). CLICK HERE to view a more complete history of the NJAHSC and NJASC since its inception in 1927.

The division of the state into North and South for purposes of rotation of the executive board was initiated in 1973. Prior to that and as far back as World War II, the state was divided into four areas; Executive Boards were elected statewide prior to World War II. The position of State Board of Education Representative was permanently established in 1976; members of the executive board rotated monthly as State Board of Education Representative prior to that date.

Before 1973, the NJAHSC archives were maintained successively by Mrs. Freda Marden, Mr. Robert Withey, and Dr. William S. Sterner. Mrs. Marden was the first executive secretary of the NJAHSC, coordinating its first meeting in 1927 and remaining as advisor until 1963. Mr. Withey was her immediate successor; Dr. Sterner was founder of the NJAHSC’s annual Leadership Training Conference (LTC) in 1955. Upon his retirement as a Professor of Education at Rutgers, The State University, Dr. Sterner transferred the NJAHSC and LTC archives to the Rutgers Department of Education in New Brunswick.